Wednesday, February 1, 2012

General Information about PMI Credentials PMP CAPM

General - Information about PMI Credentials
Do I have to be a CAPM, PMP, or a PMI Member to apply for other PMI credentials?

No. No one credential serves as a prerequisite for another. You also do not have to be a PMI member to apply to become a credential holder.

How do I earn a PMI credential?

To obtain a PMI credential, you must first meet the eligibility requirements outlined on these web pages and detailed in the credential handbooks. Then, you must pass the credential exam. For PgMP, you must pass three evaluations-the application panel review, the credential exam and the Multi-rater Assessment (detailed in subsequent FAQs).

What are the eligibility requirements?

The eligibility requirements for each credential are mentioned here, on these web pages, and detailed in each respective credential handbook. Please link to the appropriate credential handbook for complete guidelines.

How do I complete the application?

All credential applications are available online. Click on the "Apply for a Credential" button on these certification web pages. Please not that any missing information on the application will delay processing.

What supporting documentation should I send with my application?

When submitting an application, you do not need to send documentation. However, you will be required to send supporting documentation if your application is selected for a random audit. To find out more about PMI's audit process, refer to the credential handbooks and the audit FAQs.

Will newer PMI credentials dilute the PMP or other established PMI credentials?

No. PMI's credentials reflect different roles in project and program management, and therefore, are suitable for different candidates. The certification web pages and credential handbooks can help you determine which credential is right for you.

Once I pass the exam or evaluations, what next?

You may refer to yourself as a credential holder although your certificate package can take six to eight weeks to arrive in the mail. Please refer to the "Use of Your PMI Credential" section of the handbooks for more details. You also can start making plans for maintaining your credential by familiarizing yourself with the Continuing Certification Requirements (CCR) program.

What are the Continuing Certification Requirements (CCR) for PMI credentials?

PMP - 60 PDUs during 3-year cycle
PgMP - 60 PDUs during 3-year cycle
PMI-SP - 30 PDUs in project scheduling in 3-year cycle
PMI-RMP - 30 PDUs in project risk management in 3-year cycle
CAPM - renewal through re-exam at the end of 5-year cycle

How can I maintain several credentials at once?

You can align your PMP and PgMP certification cycles and maintain both credentials simultaneously. You can also apply PDUs earned for the PMI-SP and PMI-RMP to the PgMP or PMP credentials.

Refer to the PMI PMP credential training site for full PDU details.

CompTIA SmartBrief